Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education is an important part of one’s life. Educational institutions like schools, colleges provide not only academics skills but also social skills. In the present scenario, with the increase in the unemployment rate, encouraging students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful seems to be a good solution but it is just an illusion that belies the true essence of learning. The very fundamentals of term education do not restrict one to learn or choose a skill just because of increasing jobs in the field.

A student should not be forced to choose any specific field as the future is unpredictable as the fields that have plenty of jobs in the present might not be relevant in the future. For example, in the IT sector, various fields such as Software Development, Web development has plentiful jobs due to which a lot of engineering aspirants move towards these fields but with the rise in Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence and Cloud Computing, this trend has declined and the jobs are more or less equally partitioned. Hence, it is important to understand that choosing a specific field due to a greater number of jobs available is illogical.

Rather than encouraging students to choose a specific field of study, educational institutions should aid the students to enhance their creativity. Creativity is the key skill that transitions aspirant from an average level to an innovator. One could not expect innovations in different fields of study if students are restricted to only certain fields. The abate in creativity brings normality and uniformity within the students, which is often discouraged. Taking the example of Elon Musk, who brought various innovations such as autonomous vehicles, cost-saving satellites and rockets in the fields which were unheard of in the previous years. This is a precursor to a better future and scientific research.

Other than this, one does not have to take up a job. A student might pursue sports such as football, cricket etc. as a career. Also, e-sports have a gargantuan market which beats several big businesses in market cap. Hence, a student should be allowed to pursue their fields of interest. Considering a situation that if students are forced to a specific field of study, the competition for the jobs would increase and the unemployment rate would still increase to a great extent.

In conclusion, students indeed need to be in touch with the IT-sector demands but the idea of forcing them to pick only a specific field is rife with fallacies. Students should be allowed to pick any field of interest and the education institutions should help the students to carve a niche for success.