College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

While nearly every student would agree that a safety net of a job in the future seems much important than trying their hands in different fields, choosing courses based on the promise of a job might be a cursory decision. The rapid change in trends is a prime example of the unpredictability of the future. Hence, I agree that college students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

College is an institution where students get a glimpse of the real-world scenario. They are expected to mature and grow such that they could comply with the daunting challenges and take important decisions by themselves. Hence, selecting their courses and their path, following which they would carve a niche for themselves, is a great first step in embellishing these personality traits. The college and parents should be expected to help the students in understanding the options but the decision should be solely theirs.

One could agree that forcing students to select courses that are more likely to lead to a job would bring a sense of uniformity in the industry. The imbalance between certain jobs could rise to great levels. Moreover, the students whose interests lie in other subjects might find these courses mundane and insipid. This would certainly lead to suppression of creativity and growth of different fields. For example, in the previous decade or two Artificial Intelligence was a topic, unheard of in the technological industries but in the present, the rapid rise of AI has awestruck everyone. Therefore, it is important to consider that each field has its potential and even a conspicuous development could change society.

Yes, it is important to consider the fact that in the modern era, people are finding it difficult to make ends meet and a promise of a job might do wonders for them. But these are unprecedented times and the growth of one field does not guarantee its sustainability in the future. Take an example of Coronavirus, it disrupted a lot of businesses, colossal companies which had to trim their workforces to pare costs. But this also saw a rise in employability in fields such as health-care, information technology etc. Hence, what might seem relevant and safe today might not be a great option in the future. So, instead of forcing students to select few courses, they should be taught to be open and to be able to adapt to different situations.

In the final analysis, younger generations are the future of society and forcing them to study few courses would be humdrum. This would not only affect the student’s personalities but would have a devastating effect on the industry as well. Therefore, students should be allowed to select their courses of interest.