Some people believe that society should try to save every plant and animal species, despite the expense to humans in effort, time, and financial well-being. Others believe that society need not make extraordinary efforts, especially at a great cost in money and jobs, to save endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The ecosystem constitutes of all the plant species, animal species and humans living together and being dependent on each other for resources. The inter-dependence of the species describes how tightly coupled the environment is. Removing a single species of plant or animal can cause a ruckus. Hence, it is important to preserve various plant and species to keep a balance in the ecosystem. Despite that, some people believe that society need not make extraordinary efforts, at a great cost in money and jobs, to save endangered species which is simply bigoted thinking.

Humans are known to be the most intelligent and evolved species on the planet. Still, Deforestation, increasing pollution, Hunting etc. are on the rise. Various species such as the dodo got extinct in the previous decade, many of the exotic animal species are hunted for their body parts and are endangered. Many plant species are on the verge of extinction, continuous deforestation has proved to be a gargantuan issue in the fight to preserve nature. Hence, we must take responsibility for our actions and help in preserving the endangered plant and animal species.

An effort was taken to preserve the plant species, by keeping a variety of endangered species together under freezing temperature in bunkers. These are stored safely such that if one of the species become extinct, one can genetically produce the plants to keep control of their population. Also, for animals, various wildlife preservations have been built to protect endangered species such as pandas, tigers etc. This helps to stabilize the animal’s population and keeping a check upon them. Hence, various steps have been taken already but stricter rules need to be in place, stopping the problem at the origin. Each government should ensure that the animal species which are endangered, are protected. Stricter laws on hunting endangered species should be in place. No corporation should be allowed to convert areas with exotic plant or animal species to industrial area. If the government apply these rules, then the population of the endangered species would start rising back to normal levels.

In conclusion, it is important to maintain a balance in the ecosystem, even if it causes pains to the human species. The issue stated that preserving the animal and plant species costs a lot of resources such as money, jobs, time is a valid point but the human species is responsible for creating the issue, hence, we must create a solution for it. “We don’t own the resources; we owe it to our posterity”