The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo presented by the vice-president of marketing at Dura-Sock Inc. is rife with fallacies and illogical argument with a motive to strengthen the conclusion. The vice president explains the results of different surveys based on the Dura-Socks produced using the patented Endure manufacturing process and conclude that the findings suggest that they can increase their profit by discontinuing the process. The dubious claims made by the vice president does not support the underlying conclusion.

Firstly, the study mentioned in the memo is incompetence and does not provide enough information to understand the findings. According to the memo, the study suggests that the company is wasting the money it spends on its Endure manufacturing process. But no sales information is provided in the memo. It fails to answer the questions like What are the current profits being made by the company on the specific product? What are the sales distribution of the Dura-Sock? Hence, it is impossible to forecast the sales of Dura-Socks manufactured without the use of the Endure process

Secondly, the memo suggests that the Dura-Socks are durable and enough to last for two years but their study shows that on average their customers purchase new Dura-Socks every three months. Indeed, it is necessary to understand customer’s demands and needs for a company to grow its business. The various surveys are and studies aim to provide a voice to the customers. Thus, it is important to have intensive studies and surveys. The study mentioned in the memo fails to explain the information about the sample of customers. Why do the customers take new Dura-Socks? For whom are they buying the socks? On a tangent, if the customers are buying new Dura-Socks every three months, it might be the indication of the product being successful in the market.

Lastly, the memo provides information regarding their largest market, in the north-eastern United States. It states that the customers value the Dura-Sock's stylish appearance and availability in many colors. The question asked from the customers might not be intuitive. A better question would have been whether the customers find the durability of the socks useful or not. The information extracted from the survey does not correlate with the durability of the socks and hence, it does not strengthen the conclusion.

In conclusion, the vice-president of Dura-Socks Inc. should undertake surveys regarding the durability of the socks, keeping in mind the sample of customers they are surveying. The presumptuous facts cannot strengthen an argument and hence, the arguments do not prove the validity and the feasibility of the conclusion.