Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

All it took was an apple dropping from a tree to understand the phenomenon of gravity. The planet earth is governed by numerous physics and quantum laws deduced by various ingenious physicists and philosophers. These laws can answer various questions about the happenings in one's surroundings and help one to get an extensive understanding of the world. But the prospect that the earth is just a small part of a gargantuan universe, which consists of numerous galaxies and planets with different physics laws governing them, would suggest otherwise. As the human race dig deeper to unravel these mysteries, one might consider that most of the present discoveries are merely based on a hypothesis and not fact. Hence, with the present advancements in technologies, one might find that the world is much more complex than perceived to be. The extinction of dinosaurs was the precursor of the existence of the first human species which are incomparable to the present.

The theory of evolution illustrates the different phases which led to the induction of different species. But one could still not predict accurately, how did the earth come to being? or how did the solar system come into existence? The advancements in gadgets and gizmos have proved to be a boon for the scientific field such that organizations such as NASA can find new planets which may or may not be suitable as an alternative to earth. This does not abate the questions based on the subsequent discovery. Instead, it arises a doubt whether the present important discoveries hold true or not. Black Matter, as an example, might be a humongous discovery if proved to exist. But it also questions the several established gravitational laws and the subsequent laws based on them. Hence, creating disarray in the science community.

One could argue that the scientific discoveries nevertheless, provides a reasonable explanation of the phenomenon around us which are rife with various examples, mathematical calculations and illustrations. It helps one to understand the nature around them and the effects of one's action. Pollution for example, without the discoveries and findings of the various harmful substances that affect nature, the rate of pollution might have been much higher. One could only understand the effects of their actions if they understand their reaction. These scientific discoveries bridge the gap between these issues. Hence, scientific discoveries do give a better understanding of the world.

To conclude, ‌one might wonder whether the scientific technologies could unravel these mysteries only up to a certain limit. It is a bona fide that the scientific discoveries help one to get a much better understanding. But considering that earth is just a small part of the universe, human intelligence might not be able to answer these complex questions.