The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

“A government is chosen for the people, by the people”- is a phrase often heard, illustrating that people’s opinion is the key factor in forming a government. People expect that their candidate must serve the nation’s needs and work for citizen’s welfare. One can argue that the effectiveness of a country’s leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country’s citizen but that is illogical. A leader is the representative of the country and they not only have to work for the well-being of their citizens but also in maintaining global ties.

Numerous different factors define the effectiveness of a leader. The economy is one of the major factors that aid a country to develop. In long run, if there is abate in a country’s economy, the leader is termed as ineffective. Hence, it is important to think of the future too. The number of corruption cases during the government’s term is also a key factor as an idealistic government would be corruption-free. A leader has to work towards enhancing the education quality of a country and checking that all the sections of society get an equal chance towards a better future. Therefore, thinking of the long run for measuring the effectiveness and quality of a leader is substantial.

A country’s leader is expected to enhance global ties and maintain good relation with other country’s leader. Making allies helps in improving the trade of goods between the countries, further leading to improving business. Also, in case of some catastrophe, a country could depend upon its allies for help. For example, in this coronavirus-era, when the cases in India started to surge to a gargantuan level, a lot of countries came forward to India’s aid due to maintaining good relations in the past. A leader has to take care of the immigrants too, by providing them with a haven and a shelter if required.

In conclusion, it is important to understand that citizen’s well-being is just one of the numerous factors in measuring the effectiveness of a leader. It includes various factors but is not limited to the citizen’s of a country but the whole world’s opinion is substantial.