Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The college phase is one of the most important stages of one's life, during which the students get an opportunity to carve a niche for themselves. The prompt suggests that the universities should require their students to spend at least one semester in a foreign country. The idea at first glance seems to be an amazing improvisation to the present course-based programs. Learning about different cultures, gaining a plethora of skills and experience could be seen as a great step to aid the students for a better future. But on critically analyzing the idea; it is rife with fallacies.

In this modern era, where everyone is busy as a bee. With the rapid rise in costs of basic amnesties, people already find it difficult to make the ends meet. Making it a compulsion to move to a foreign country for a semester, which generally is of 6 months period, would abate the finances of the family. Indeed, not all families would be able to afford the tuition fees, living and additional expenses in foreign countries where the currency exchange rate is higher than the country, they are living in. Also, educational institutions need to comprehend the cases where students are the ones financially supporting their family. In India, for example, most of the students are not able to afford the high expenses due to which they have to either take a loan at a young age or not attend colleges at all.

Younger generations are the gems of a country, whose sharpness is increased by the colleges and universities. While it is a student's choice whether to stay in their native country or move to a different country in search of better opportunities, the colleges in their native country should try to subdue this quandary. With the rapid rise in immigration in countries such as the US, Canada, one could presume that their native countries are losing their ingenious and skilled citizens. At a younger age, one's mind is volatile and with the illusion of better lifestyle and job opportunities, the thirst for shifting to foreign countries increases gradually. So, instead of sending their students to foreign countries, the universities should try to change this mindset by providing them with better opportunities.

To conclude, it is a bona fide that learning about different cultures, traditions, work ethics would provide students with exposure to the real-world scenario and make them susceptible to the job industry. But rather than making it a compulsion, the colleges should provide a choice to the student; whether to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country or working with a reputed company in their established field.