All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

“A school is a child’s second home”. A school is a place, where a child receives both academic skills and life skills. Nevertheless, the parents also have to keep a check on their children and help them to move in the right direction. Volunteering in school would facilitate the parents to understand their children, their behavior at schools and their academic skills but making it a requirement belies these advantages.

In a modern era, where everyone is busy as a bee and the parents are working hard to make the ends meet, it would be really difficult for them to take a leave from their job and give time to their children’s schools. Most importantly, it would affect the parents who are not financially stable. For example, for a daily wage worker, who have to support their child’s education and pay for different bills, it would be illogical to take a leave for volunteering time at school. Parents indeed need to give time to their children but the school needs to understand the hardships of parents.

Forcing parents to volunteer time would be feckless as they would not be able to be as efficient and understanding as they are at home. Also, a parent could become agitated as they are forced to give their precious time in handling students and this anger if released in front of children would cause ruckus which the school management would have to control. Also, some parents who are not “modern” enough at the school level, might feel ashamed and this could affect psychologically both the child and the parent.

“What you sow is what you reap”- is a phrase often heard meaning that if good morals and values are sown at an early age, it would reap a good result. School is the place where children spend most of their time except at home. So, it is both the duty of the parents and the teachers to help the children walk on the correct path and carve a niche for themselves in the future.

In conclusion, one could accept that for parents, making it a requirement to volunteer time to their child’s schools would be substantial. If parents give their time to their child at home, where they feel more comfortable talking to their child is a better method to engage parents and children.