The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter to the editor of the journal provides certain arguments to reach a conclusion but these arguments are rife with fallacies and consists of illogical statements. Environmental issues are a burning topic that is churning the minds of every human being and the governments of different countries. The Abate in flora and fauna has raised several questions on the present norms and rules governing the safety of nature. In the letter, the author states that over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. This issue has been seen as a potential danger to the environmental conditions of West Fredonia but the author provides dubious evidence to strengthen the conclusion.

Firstly, contemplating that the company has been buying land for mining is substantial. No business plans or the company’s future endeavors are provided in the letter for supporting this argument. There is a probability that the company might be looking into other ventures which might be more environmentally friendly. Also, the author of the letter states that mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution. No proof or evidence is provided stating that the company has not been following the norms and the laws. Maybe the company strictly follows rules to reduce the pollution level in West Fredonia.

Secondly, the author states that there are endangered animal species present in West Fredonia which might be uprooted from their homes or affected due to the Crust Copper Company’s new venture. West Fredonia is a large region and the endangered animal’s habitat could be in different regions. CCC bought only 10,000 square miles of the land, hence it is not necessary that any endangered species is being affected due to them. The letter fails to provide the specific regions of the different natural habitats of the endangered animal species which would have been much more helpful to predict if CCC is causing any harm to the environment.

The conclusion stated that the people should stop buying products from CCC, which could further lead to the company abandoning its mining project is a presumption. It is not necessary that the products obtained from mining in West Fredonia are being sold to people instead it could be a B2B (Business to Business) plan, hence the conclusion does not support the environmental effects from the mining if caused any.

In conclusion, preserving the environment is an important task and each individual has a responsibility to work towards saving nature but it is important to understand if an issue is present in reality or is it just an illusion. Banning the use of a company’s product is an example of taking responsibility after the damage has been done. Efforts should be made in stopping the issue at origin and not its after-effects.