The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The editorial published in the business magazine is rife with fallacies and provides illogical arguments to support the conclusion. According to the editor, sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years and based on few surveys they conclude that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase “dramatically” in the next few months.

Firstly, the Whirlwind video games take a survey based on which they assume that the declining trend in their video games is going to be reduced. The survey was based on the liking of the players like What features they thought were most important in a video game? So, instead of understanding the abate in sales, they ask players about their preferences. Hence, the survey does not provide any valid reasons for the decrease in sales. Also, the survey fails to explain the sample of the population, the survey was taken for as different age group might have different preferences for the game type.

Secondly, the editor points out that according to the survey, the players preferred games that provide lifelike graphics which require the most up-to-date computers and Whirlwind are introducing several such games which could boost their business. This is based on a false assumption. The player's preference belies the fact that not all players might have up-to-date computers, they might prefer or desire games with lifelike graphics on new gadgets and gizmos but might not own them. Also, no information is provided to understand the genre of games that the players like as this is an important detail for the games regardless of the high or lifelike graphics.

Thirdly, Whirlwind introduced their games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people of the age group ten to twenty-five assuming that they are the consumers of the product. This is a shred of dubious evidence in support of the conclusion as only the age group of ten to twenty-five does not need to play games on devices. In this modern era, the gaming industry has spread to different ages. Different streaming platforms like Twitch, YouTube consists of many successful streamers that play games and are above twenty-five years of age. Also, it is superfluous that every age group might appreciate the game as the younger age group might not be allowed to play games that contain gore or swearing in them. Hence, it is groundless that the advertisement would be of benefit to the Whirlwind games.

In conclusion, Whirlwind games should make an effort to understand their mistakes and find the reason for the decline in sales and then make an effort to change this trend. Also, making games for only up-to-date computers would further decrease their sales instead they should be looking to provide options to different users such that it does not become a necessity. Hence, the conclusion was a vague prognosis based on weak arguments.