The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A "society" is formed by people with different beliefs, religion, ideologies grouped as one. The characteristics of a society depend upon various factors such as quality of life within the society, the altercations within the society etc. The prompt suggests that the best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or role models. One could delineate the fact that the younger generation tends to look up to their role models for inspiration and dream to have the same lifestyle as them. Hence, these role models could best explain the character of society. But the bona fide is that no one or a sample of people from society could explain their characteristics.

The idea of "individuality" states that each individual has a different personality, thinking and beliefs. This idea is the key to understand the characteristics of a society. Human beings, termed as the most intelligent species on Earth, are unique from other species but also within themselves. Each individual has different thoughts on a subject, which in most cases leads to an altercation. Take an example of politics, one could examine various cases of no-confidence votes against a prime minister or president of a country because they fail to represent their supporters, which caused due to a clash of different ideologies.

The younger generation being naive look up to their role models based on their lifestyles, their monetary value and achievements. But the blatant truth is that their lives are different from what is perceived. People fail to understand the real personality of a role model and believe in their forged personality shown by media and televisions. Even if they are caught in a scam or wrongdoing, they rally behind their role models in supporting them and being hostile towards their naysayers. Hence, a role model is not a perfect fit for representing a group of people.

In conclusion, a society consists of various individuals, whose beliefs might differ from one another. The idea of Sampling a group of people from the society to examine its characteristics is rife with fallacies. A better method is to ask questions such as, whether they are fighting for their rights? How diverse is the concerned society? Is education provided to all the groups in society? Asking these questions would help one to examine society diligently.