The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The hypothesis provided above is illogical and rife with fallacies. According to the author of the summary, Salicylates is a chemical found in many food items, this chemical was also used as a food preservative and the rise of commercial use of salicylates was linked with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in a twenty-year study. The food processing companies want to use salicylates as a flavor additive for food and the conclusion stated above was that this would lead to a decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia. The argument in the summary is weak to support the conclusion.

Firstly, the summary suggests that there is a correlation between the number of headaches and the use of salicylates, but it fails to provides various facts such as the sample of people that were participants in the twenty-year study, did the patients have any previous medical history, how high was the correlation between the number of headaches and use of salicylates. These are some important questions that are left unanswered in the summary and could be a big factor to determine if there was any direct correlation or not.

Secondly, the summary explains that using salicylates in foods as preservatives led to a decrease in the number of headaches and now, the food processing companies want to use the chemical as a flavor additive. Here, the amount of Salicylate used in food as both food preservative and flavor additive are unknown and using might require separate extensive research whether they affect the number of headaches or not. Choosing a good sample size would be a key factor for determining that the effect on residents of Mentia is true or false.

One could easily abjure the conclusion based on the summary provided by the author as the facts stated do not strengthen the conclusion and no direct correlation could be found between Salicylates and the number of headaches.