Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Critical analysis of a topic means an in-depth analysis of the underlying issue which includes risk management, resource management etc. Without any prior knowledge of the subject, passing a judgment might be fallacious. One needs to understand different aspects of the field but it is not necessary to be an "expert" in that field. This arises a burning question, who is an expert?

An expert might be stated as a professional whose work is highly regarded. Becoming an expert in a field might take ages of practice, theoretical and practical knowledge of the field. But a person who understands the basic principles and working of the field can provide various insights regarding the issue at hand. One necessarily doesn’t need a degree to prove their understanding of the topic. Elon Musk, for example, is a multi-millionaire businessman and is knowledgeable. With his business in different ventures such as the automobile industry, aeronautical science, networking etc. can be considered as an expert in these fields. But knowing all the principles of the various fields doesn't make him an expert rather it is his critical thinking, reasoning and thirst for knowledge that makes him wise.

A person without the knowledge of a field might interpret a topic in a different method which might be unheard of and might lead to a better solution. One could argue that an expert might always provide a good solution or an efficient method to solve an issue. But it is a bona fide that exploring different possibilities and understanding its result, aids one to understand a topic better rather than choosing an already visited path.

Critical judgment can be comprehended with various techniques that could help one to analyze the work of a field. These include tasks such as resource management, risk management, time management, understanding the factors affecting the result and the application of the work in the real world scenario. This is just a set of various exhausting tasks that is necessary for critically analyzing a work. Most of these theoretical tasks need an understanding of the field but tasks such as time management and application of the work can be analyzed by any bystander with the basic knowledge of these topics.

To conclude, expertise in any field might help one to provide an optimal path or a solution. But to understand a topic better one needs to undergo the system of trial and error, understanding different possibilities and results. Hence, the analysis could be provided by a person having a fundamental knowledge of the field.