When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Historic buildings are a treasure to humankind. They not only display the art and tradition of our previous generations but also signifies the growth and development of the human species throughout the centuries. The development of various cities, spread across the world, saw the demolishment of various historic buildings to construct exquisite and expensive skyscrapers. The construction of these architectural embellishments belies the loss of history and culture of the region. One could delineate that with the increase in worldwide population, the requirements for new schools, hospitals and other facilities also increases. But the question remains unanswered, is it worth it?

The historic buildings illustrate the traditions and cultures that were once followed. These are of utmost importance as these cultures lay the foundation of a society or a religion. Over the years, a lot of these cultures have faded away from existence, due to modernization. It is a bona fide that one could perceive a lot of knowledge through history. Its destruction would immaterialize the significance of ancient art and craft. The structure and the design of these buildings which astonish the modern archaeologists, which were built with immense hard work and without the use of any modern technologies, signifies their craftsmanship and skills. Hence, it would be depreciating to remove these historic embellishments.

The loss of cultures is a huge loss to incur. Take an example of various languages. Various languages such as Sanskrit, Greek, Latin have become languages of the past due to the acceptance of only a single or a group of languages such as English, Russian, Spanish etc. India is a country of diversity. It is a country with various cultures, religions, practices. But one could agree that with the development of various cities, many of these traditions have become scarce.

Another issue is the ever-growing population. The rapid increase in population in the previous decades, escalate the demands for better facilities. This demand saw various parks, forests etc. being converted to meet the requirements of the public. The abate in available open spaces forced the administration to demolish the buildings with historical buildings. Take an example of Toronto, one of the most developed cities in the world, is cramped together with gargantuan skyscrapers and buildings, leaving little to no open spaces.

In conclusion, these historic buildings signify the creation of society and therefore, needs to be preserved. Indeed, with the growing demands, more facilities are required. But demands should not be met at the cost of history. Instead, better and futile plans should be made by the planners, considering the future issues and exploding population. "We don't own these historic resources but owe it to our posterity".