The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quito Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quito Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quito and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo presented by the vice president of Quito Manufacturing is rife with fallacies and illogical arguments trying to support the conclusion. The vice president put forward a solution to abate the number of on-the-job accidents by shortening each of their three work shifts by an hour such that employees get an adequate amount of sleep but do not provide enough arguments to strengthen the conclusion.

Firstly, the memo states that Quito Manufacturing had 30 per cent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts were one hour shorter than theirs. This argument is misleading as the cause of the on-the-job accidents is considered to be the extended hour work at Quito Manufacturing. The memo fails to specify the cause of the accidents, in both of the Industrial Plants and makes a substantial-conclusion based on this argument. The vice president should take a survey of the numbers and causes of accidents daily which would provide a better understanding of the cause of the accidents.

Secondly, the memo provides a statement that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among the workers and therefore, to reduce the number of accidents and increase productivity, they should shorten each of their three work shifts by one hour such that employees should get adequate amounts of sleep. This statement provides dubious shreds of evidence to conclude. The memo fails to explain the amount of sleep a worker is getting on an average as that might give an extensive view of the issue. Also, with the reduction in the working hours, productivity will decrease as there is no correlation present in the number of accidents and productivity.

In conclusion, one can contradict that sleep is necessary and that an adequate amount of sleep can increase productivity but the facts provided in the memo are misleading and does not suffice the need of reducing the working hours. Instead of this, the vice president should look into the cause of the accidents and check whether the workers are following safety protocols or not. The illusion formed in the vice president’s mindset that the accidents are caused by sleep deprivation is incorrect and not enough facts support his conclusion.