The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In an academic eNviroment, pleasing students and alumni is equally important to embracing land marked standards. IN the passage here, the administrative staff of Grove College, led by the president proposed that the school should not support coeducation. Even though, majority of faculty of members disagrese with this recommendation, they took the significant responses from some students and alumni for cues in their conclusion. However, this argument has too many fundamental flaws, and hence the recommendation would not be accepted at face value by the college’s governing committee.

First of all, to draw the conclusion that the college should remain all-female, the committee relied on the support survey responses of 80% of its students. The arguer made the assumptions that the students here supplied valid responses as possible, and not just to please the president or any other faculty member. Can any good come of survey? Especially one amidst students. Maybe not, but the certainty and truthfulness of the survey is not guaranteed. Hence, this premise in which the conclusion has been based is flawed. In addition, the kinds of students is not clearly state. Were the committee referring to 80% of its first-year students, or that of the penultimate class. BE that as it ma, even the number of these students are not stated. For, a large percentage of just about 30 students represent a diminutive fraction in which an assertion should appropriately be based on. For these reasons, the committee had gotten a sample that is not representative in vouching for the recommendation. The argument might have been more logically convincing, if the presidents had led has team to present detailed responses and even concerns included.

In addition, the argument never addresses reasons the concerns of the most relevant individuals in the faculty were jettisoned. A good number of them supported co-education. After all, the faculty mentioned a good point there. A school that admits both male and female, would attract more male, even more female, therefore, bring progress to the school. The recommendation on the governing commitee’s table would be portrayed as the president been factious, or perhaps, that he and his members are more concerned with keeping some century-old tradition, at the expense of the schools progress. The author need to submit alongside the recommendation, documents containing logically convincing reasons for disregarding the objections of the faculty elders.

Even the author provide these evidences mentioned above, he/she needs his readers to agree that defying the recommendation would spoil the students morale, and make the alumnae withdraw their financial support. Here, the argument assumed that the students and alumni would not agree if the committee take steps on co-education in the college. There is no evidence that states that these set of people cannot agree to suggestions, and open to change. Also there is no evidence that indicated that students retorted in the past, when some of their needs were not met. Likewise, the argument did not mention any instance in which they defiantly withheld their support of the school upon not acknowledging some of their suggestions. The author might want to show the governing council some of these evidences, if any, to further convince them why their recommendation be done and nothing else.

In conclusion, the argument above can not completely sound until the author provide objective responses of all the students, reasons majority of the members be disregarded, and data of former instance where students were dissident and alumni halting their support. Until these documents are provided, so the argument would be acceptable by the committee.