Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The increase in automation will lead to people losing their jobs.

Jobs are important part of our lives. With jobs, one have a means to provide for necessary and basic needs. Some people fear that increase in automation in many organizations will lead to lost jobs. Some disagrees with this position. As for me, I do mostly agree that automation would lead to drastic reduction in the need of human power for the following reasons.

First of all, traditional roles requiring human power would be replaced by automation. If roles are being replaced, then the persons employed to undertake those tasks previously would be considered useless. For instance, when 3 dispensing machines were introduced at my mother’s work place at El-Marine Pharmacy, Canada, a few months ago, not less than 5 Pharmacists were laid off. The automation is partly due to the social media distancing COVID-19 policy and the need to respond to emergencies as fast as possible. Since human power truly are sometimes deficient in terms of speed and accuracy. The organization, thus, thought it best to introduce those dispensing machines to help with filling prescriptions. There, I could see that such technological innovation brought about some persons losing their means of livelihood.

In addition, less people are needed to operate a technological innovation. With that thought, I am certain employers would not find any reason to retain those whose jobs have been replaced. I can also remember too what happened in my Father’s farm at Kentucky. The farm is a fairly big one, which requires not less than 40 manual labourers for ploughing. When he purchased a mechanical plough, he only needed 4 persons for a proper work done. Those not chosen basically lost their livelihood and were made to face the seemingly cruel labour marker again. Since just a little number of persons are needed to operate an automatic machine, many were forced to be laid of.

Despite the high tendency of lost jobs as a result of increased automation in our society today, I must say that, there are some jobs that are totally irreplaceable. For instance, doctors and nurses in healthcare centres are difficult to be replaced.

In conclusion, even though increased automation might not always lead to job loss, I mostly agree that it poses such danger. Apart from seeing automation replacing traditional roles, less and less person are needed to operate any technological innovation. Though we cannot turn our backs to automation, a developing society should always seek to provide more means of job for its citizens.