Do you agree/disagree with the following statement?

The increase in automation will lead to people losing their jobs.

It is true that the world is rapidly undergoing a technological shift with increasing advancement and breakthroughs, leading us towards a world driven by automation.

Automation is the process of having everything done by robots or automated devices which do not require human intervention while working. It is said that soon we would be having robots or robotic devices all over the world. The statement states that automation could replace humans and they might lose their jobs. I completely disagree that an increase in automation would reduce the jobs available for humans.

Firstly, the rising technological advancements over the years have been because of human intervention. The fact that in order to program a robot to do tasks like humans require programming which can only be done by a human. Robots are intended to facilitate automation for human activities, but this does not rule out that future human intervention would be reduced since there is going to be a constant human to robot interaction in every field. The type of jobs required could be changed in the coming years with the world rapidly moving towards an era of automation that requires people to expertise in the computer-based domains.

Secondly, we have seen in the last decade with computers introduction there was fear that a certain percentage of the population would not be able to get a job. Whereas, over the years computers have taken a hold of almost every field without replacing humans. On the other hand, with computers intervention, people find it a lot easier to work as it has significantly reduced our efforts. The fact that operating a computer requires a set of skills and the same applies to future automation practices. Therefore, automation would certainly make things easier for us, at the same time it would demand particular skillsets to aid further research and development ultimately changing the type of jobs required and not removing it.

In conclusion, the increase in automation would change jobs in the future rather than remove them. People will have to acquire knowledge and skills to facilitate automation as we saw what happened with computer’s introduction at the start of last decade.