The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Cooperation can be defined as the coming together of a set of bodies to achieve a common or shared goal. Competition, on the other hand can be said to be a term that refers to a setting where two or more bodies tend to prove to the general public that they are a better choice, and in a bid to prove this, these bodies work singly and tend to outdo one another in attaining certain goals. However, which one can be said to be the better approach in preparing a society's young people for leadership in government, industry, or some other field? While many argue that instilling in these young set of individuals a sense of cooperation would be the best approach in preparing them for leadership in various settings, others posit that instilling a sense of competition would be a better choice. This essay would support the latter - that instilling a sense a competition would be the best approach.

First off, competition pushes individuals and organizations to limits they never imagined. Why's this? Everyone simply want to be the best in their respective industry. Take for example, the smartphone industry. Many years ago, the thought of the fact that one would carry about a small gadget that features a touchscreen, and able to surf the internet at a prodigious speed would have seemed like a chimera to many. However, as we see today, almost every teen has a smartphone. It is no news that the smartphone companies Samsung and Apple compete head to head for the general smartphone users market today. As such, each company is prompted to come up with even better innovations every year than what they had the previous year. As such, this has resulted in a tremendous advancements in the smartphone technology. Today, smartphones not only have fingerprint scanners embedded in them, some of them even feature Artificial Intelligence technology that scans your face to unlock your device. Talk about cutting-edge technology at the tips of our hands. All these wouldn't have been possible via mere cooperation between these companies. The urge to do more, and outdo each other that resulted in the development of groundbreaking technologies in mired by a sense of cooperation, and rather bolstered by a sense of competition.

Another case I would be using to buttress my stance is the case of the pharmaceutical industry. Huge pharmaceutical companies like Pfizer and Vitabiotics have developed groundbreaking drugs and vaccines over the years. These vaccines have helped eradicated certain infections around the world like Polio. The continuous competition over the years for the development of certain drugs to make them beneficiaries of the patent for a particular drug has fueled the production of these groundbreaking drugs and vaccines. These patents ensure that only the company that developed a particular drug has the right the manufacture the said drug for a number of years, sometimes entering decades. This is to ensure that the developer of a drug generates enough revenue from the sales of the said drug after development. After a particular number of years, the patent would be annuled, and other companies would be granted the right the manufacture these said drugs? However, who wants to waut for years before they can be able to make money from the sales of a drug, when theu can develop it first and be granted a patent to the said drug? This is where the spirit of competition sets in. Without competition, all these wouldn't even be dreamt of.

However, even though it might appear that instilling a sense of competition would be the best approach in educating a society's younger generation, studies have shown that a sense of cooperation offers tons of benefits too. For example, I would be making the illustration of certain alliances between a number of countries during the World War II. In such a disastrous and tumtous period, cooperation might just be the missing ingredient. Countries that formed allies with other countries stood a better chance at winning the war. Why's this? Synergistic effect I'd say. The flaws of one are nullified by the strengths of another. As such, these set of bodies appear as a unified body, with little to no flaws. This ptovides them with a better chnace of winning the war, compared to fighting singly.

In conclusion, while it may appear that instilling a sense of competition in a society's younger generation provides a lot of benefits like the drive to do better and produce groundbreaking developments, the instillation of a sense of cooperation also proves to be an ideal choice in some cases.