The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of

video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at

Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising

our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown

Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than

9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years

ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering

great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine

Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to

decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain

how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a memorandum, the owner of the Movies Galore chain of video rental stores claims that, since profits have recently had a downfall at the stores, they should reduce operating expenses whilst offering movies at low prices as usual. Although the owner provides seemingly logical reasons for this recommendation, on a closer look, it becomes evident that her argument raises many questions that must be answered before the recommendation can be taken seriously.

To begin with, the owner claims that since profits are declining, it must be due to "high" operating expenses which must, hence, be lowered. However, the owner fails to provide any evidence from which this conclusion can be drawn. What are the recent sales at the stores? Can it be reasonably assumed that the sales have been unwavering, and it is only the operating costs that have been cutting into the profits? The owner goes on to claim that raising the rental prices is not the solution. Has there a survey been conducted recently of the stores' customers that says that, were prices raised, the customers would no longer shop there? The answers to these questions can make or break the owner's argument for prioritizing the lowering of operating costs while keeping on offering videos at the same rental prices.

Further, the owner cites the Marston store which recently changed its closing time from 9:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. and, in the process, significantly decreased its operating expenses. Does a fall in operating costs necessarily reflect a rise in profits though? Is there any evidence that demonstrates that operating expenses were the only shortcoming of the Marston store, and on overcoming that hurdle, the store has turned profitable? Did Marston employ any other tactic to maximize their profits besides this? Unless the owner can produce sound proof that operating costs were Marston's only obstacle in the path to being a profitable venture, her argument that the stores should focus on minimizing operating expenses holds no water.

Finally, the owner categorically assumes that what worked for Marston will undoubtedly work for all other Movies Galore stores. Are the circumstances of all ten stores similar or at least comparable? Do they cater to the same demographic? Are the customers' purchasing habits more or less the same, so that the strategy employed by Marston can be reliably applied to the other stores and similar results achieved? It is possible, for example, that Marston's customers were older people who generally wrap up their day early in the evening, which is why Marston found it fine to close by 6:00 p.m. There may very well be a Movies Galore store in an area with a significantly younger working population who would like the option of shopping late. The owner needs to answer these questions regarding the comparative demographics of the customer base at different shops, if her recommendation is to be evaluated in light of all the evidence.

To conclude, while the owner's recommendation for reducing operating expenses at the rental stores while offering videos on rent at the same prices seems logical prima facie, there are many questions that need to be answered in detail as outlined above. Only on having the full picture at hand can the owner's argument be examined properly, and a decision be taken regarding her recommendation.