1-Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

Human is a complicated and unexpected creature that no one could predict the other one’s purpose and action. It’s too absolute to say that all actions, with no exception, are done based on self-interests. There are too many counterexamples that disprove this statement.

We cannot ignore that in society, there are people that just consider their own sakes and benefits in their actions. Especially, in the competitive and fast-pace world, it seems imperative that people just think about themselves and act based on their benefits. We can witness many competitions among the employees and students in achieving the highest income, position or grade. Their actions are based on their self-interest that is mostly around money and fame. The corporeal needs oblige people to compete with each other, so to be the winner they should consider their own benefits.

However, there are too many cases that the actions are done because of empathy and fondness that humankind have. Consider a mother that would sacrifice everything that she has, even her own life for her child. These traits are built in the humankind and no one can deny them. Sacrifice is an outstanding action that we have witness it lots of times, in the course of history. In each war, there are numerous mettle men and women that sacrifice their lives to defend their countries. They consider other people’s safety in prior to theirs. Apparently, they do not go to the war for their self-benefits, but they endanger their lives to save their countries and other citizens.

Humans have all the feelings together and these feelings discern them among other creatures such as animal. Imagination, emotion, empathy, etc. are the feelings that along with other feelings shape the humankind and superior them. Even an animal that become a mother to its child, have emotion and caring to it, let alone, the human that has more advance feelings and actions.

In conclusion, although there are actions that are done based on the benefits and self-interest of the peoples, also, there are actions that are based on sacrifice. In fact, sacrifice shows that a person thinks of others rather than himself, and this is the bright side of the world that we should appreciate it more.