The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public

Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to

significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study

reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high,

people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of

colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since

colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school

and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid - a nutritional

supplement derived from fish oil - as a good way to prevent colds and lower

absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to

evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or

strengthen the argument

The author of the report recommends using, each day, a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil in order to decrease colds and consequently absent rates from schools and work. To justify his recommendation, the author uses the results of a study conducted in nearby East Meria where consume fish and they have lower rates of visiting the doctors for colds. The author makes some unwarranted assumptions that render the report highly suspected. He should consider some solid pieces of evidence to make his recommendation more convincing.

First of all, the author assumes that because the most frequently reason for students and employees’ absences is colds, they should come up with a treatment for colds in West Maria. What if colds is just an excuse made by students and workers for their absences from schools and workplace? There is no convincing evidence in the report which shows students and employees’ honesty. If this proves that they have other reason for their absences than colds, the author’s recommendation won’t affect the absenteeism rate in West Maria.

Moreover, it’s not persuasive that the author compares two different regions, East Maria and West Maria, without precise information about these two regions demographics. To have a better comparison the author must consider the population of these two regions as well as their weather conditions. If East Maria is warmer than West Maria, it would decrease the rate of colds for the residents of East Maria. Knowing the population of these two areas gives the reader better vision about the validity of the argument. If it proves that the number of the total East Maria’ population is less than West Maria’s, then it should be considered that the ratio of people who may catch a cold, with other same factors, in East Maria would be less than West Maria. Without considering these pieces of evidence about the two parts of Maria, the author fails to convince the reader.

Finally, the low rate of visiting the doctors, which was reported in a study, is not necessarily meaning that they had fewer colds. It’s possible that most of the hospitals and doctors, in East Maria, had announced that no longer accept colds disease, as it can cure easily by individuals at their homes. In this case, this piece of evidence mentioned in the argument is invalid. Therefore, the author should examine more accurate the reason of lower rates of visiting doctors for colds, in East Maria, to have a more solid recommendation.

All in all, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due the lack of concrete evidence. To be able to write a more convincing report and recommendation, the author should take more evidence into account. Perhaps, a systematic study with accurate statistics would help the author to have a solid argument.