The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of

an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to

conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many

home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost

twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies

for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to

reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for

electricity in our area will not increase - and may decline slightly. Since our

three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have

always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be

necessary.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated

assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends

on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the

assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum, an electrical power company argues that they do not need to construct a new power plant because the three generating plants have been sufficient during the past twenty years. The planning department of this company assume some assumptions to reach to this conclusion, and if these assumptions prove to be fallacious, the argument will fall apart.

First of all, the planning company claims that during the past twenty years ago the three generating power plants were adequate for their needs, but they should consider the future’s circumstances of this area. If there are some wildernesses that are potential to develop and construct new homes, then it’s plausible that the three generating power plants won’t meet the future’s needs. Therefore, they should conduct a study about the future plans of developments in this region. If this assumption proves to be true, then the decision made by the planning department will be invalid.

Moreover, they assume that based on the several recent surveys, home owners are willing to save energy. There is not any sufficient information about those surveys. They should explain more about the region’s demographics, and the survey’s methodology. How many questions are there in those surveys? What were the specific questions asked about the saving energy? How many home owners contribute to the surveys? It’s possible that in the surveys, they ask only a question about people’s opinion around the consuming energy, so the results would not be conceiving. Furthermore, they assert that manufactures have offered some new energy efficient home appliances like air conditioners. They assume that home owners will buy them to save more energy. However, what are the prices of the new technological home appliances? It’s possible that people won’t buy them due to their prohibitive prices.

Also, they do not have any information about industries. If it’s true that the home owners are eager to save energy, the planning department must know better that the majority of the energy consumes belongs to the industries. If there are several manufactures in this region, they should be willing to consider plans to save energy as well to help the planning department to made a decision about the construction of a new plant. Without conducting a study about the manufactures’ and industries’ plans and eagerness, the planning department’s decision will be unsound.

All in all, the argument, as it stands now, is full of unwarranted assumptions and as a result is flawed. The planning department must consider other factors that may affect their decisions. They may use a systematic study about the manufactures and the home owners to see whether they are willing to buy any novel, conservative energy technological devices or not.