The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food

distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company

to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but

last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been

destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company,

which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in

Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had

been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away

is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to

Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to

evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or

strengthen the argument.

In the memo, the vice president of a food distribution company argues about their problems regarding pest damages and he believes that despite the high price of Fly-Away pest control company, they are not successful to lessen the food distribution company’s worth of damages. This conclusion has some fallacious assumptions behind it and it’s because of lack of concrete evidence. To evaluate the conclusion, the vice president should consider examining some piece of evidence.

First of all, the vice president simply compares the two warehouses in different cities. There is no sufficient evidence in the memo which could depict if these two warehouses are analogous. If the warehouse in Palm City has more amount of food being stored, then it’s possible that it’s worth of damages would be more than the other warehouse, despite the kind of pest control company being used. Also, it’s plausible that Palm City has more pests which are become resistant to any chemical used to kill them. Maybe, Palm City’s location cause this warehouse to have more pets than Winter vale. If it is near any forest could have more harmful pests. Therefore, if either evidence is proved to be true, the conclusion will be invalid.

Moreover, the Palm City’s warehouse is used to maintain fast-foods. Naturally, fast-foods are easier to corrupt than other foods. There is not any evidence mentioned in the memo that shows what kind of foods are stored in Winter vale’s warehouse. Perhaps, Winter vale’s warehouse is used for some kind of food which are not attractive for pests and consequently, its rate of food damages is low.

Finally, the vice president assumes that the pests are responsible for the high rate of damages in the Palm City warehouse. What if other factor plays a significant role in damages? It’s possible that the condition for maintaining foods is not proper in comparison with Winter vale’s warehouse. He should examine Palm City’s warehouse cooling appliances, or interview the manager of that warehouse to figure it out what is the main problem. Maybe, the workers who work in Palm City’s warehouse did not do their responsibilities carefully and as a result, the worth of food damages become high. Without solid evidence about Palm City’s warehouse condition of preserving, the vice president’s argument would not be sound.

All in all, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to the considerably lack of evidence. The vice president of the food distribution company should consider some concrete evidence to be able to decide about the pest-control companies and their effectiveness in controlling damages.