The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC

radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that

WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has

occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth

has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must

make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format

tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded

music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a

news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our

area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to

evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or

strengthen the argument.

The manager of WWAC radio station in a memorandum argues that because their number of listeners has declined, the owner decided to change the format of their programs from rock-music to talk format programs. To reach to this decision, the owner has used some fallacious assumptions. In order to evaluate this decision, the owner should consider some concrete evidence.

First of all, the owner of WWAC radio station assumes that the new population consists of the retired people moved to their listener area is responsible for the decreasing rate of their listeners. Perhaps, other factors are responsible for this decrement and not the retired listeners. It’s plausible that other radio stations that have the same listener area as WWAC, have more attractive programs that have grabbed the audience’s attention, and consequently, the listener rate of WWAC had declined. Also, it’s possible that retired people are not willing to listen to any radio and they prefer to spend their time on reading books or watching TV. If either piece of evidence proves to be true, then the owner’s decision would be invalid.

Moreover, the owner of WWAC assumes that because of the continuing decrement of the local sales of music recorded, people have limited interest in music. The owner needs to know more accurate about the reason of the declined rate of the local sales of music. If this has other reason than people’s interest in music, then the decision made to change the program format of WWAC will be unsound. It’s possible that the economy has become dire and people cannot afford to buy recorded music, but they still are interested in listening music on the radio as a free platform. Therefor, WWAC should continue their musical format.

Finally, the listeners of the rock-music programs of WWAC are diminished, but they maybe prefer other kind of music to listen. For instance, pop music would attract them. Hence, changing the format of the program without considering other factors and evidence would be irrational. It’s likely that talk format programs that are increasingly popular, would not appealing for the listeners of WWAC. The owner should conduct a survey of residents in their listener area and decide based on this survey’s result. Furthermore, the owner should consider that entering to an area that is rapidly growing in popularity, such as talk format program would be equal to moving to a saturated market and despite the change, their listener rate would not increase.

All in all, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to lack of concrete evidence. The management of WWAC should consider other solid evidence and perhaps use a systematic research study to be able to evaluate their decision successfully.