Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Humans are, generally, surrounded by a variety of relationships. We have raised in a family, including parents and siblings and we have many friendships that are very important for us. In the past decades, people have more chances to have kinship as well and the extended family was very valuable for them. But I believe that these days, the extended family has lost its importance and I explain my point of view for the following reasons.

To begin with, according to the technological era that we are living in it, people mostly don't have enough time to spend with their extended family. Everyone is busy with its job and own family and if anyone has a little time for relaxing, especially, at the weekends, prefer to spend it with their friends or their parents. In my experience, I may see my extended family only once a year, because of lacking of time and long distances that we have with each other. In comparison, my parents assert that they have very strong bonds with their cousins, aunts and uncles, they lived close to each other and they were very fortunate to develop friendships with their cousins.

Besides that, in recent years people have become more economize due to the bad circumstances of the economy in many countries such as my country. People in Iran suffer from a poor economy and because of this, everyone decides to save their money. Consequently, many associations have vanished through time and extended family has been less important. People decline their gathering and parties and if they miss each other, they would call and speak by phone.

Moreover, social media are playing the most important role in our lives these years and they are responsible for the decline of relationships among families. Thanks to the face-time for instance, everyone could see each other through smartphones and face to face relationships become less and less.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that nowadays, the extended family has lost its importance due to many reasons. Deficiency of time, poor economy, social media and the Internet are all reasons for my opinion.