Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The extended family grandparents cousins aunts and uncles is less important now than it was in the past

Nowadays, family relationships play a vital role in developing a great community and country. Some people believe that family is today more important than before. I, personally, on the other hand, think that this was more crucial in the past when compared to now. I feel this way because of two significant reasons which I will put forth in the following paragraphs.

First of all, individuals are busy now than the past. People have a lot to do and they have no additional time to allocate to the extended family. My personal example is a good illustration of this concept. Now, I have two jobs overwhelming me so much that I can put little or no time aside to spend with my grandparents or cousins and uncles. As a result, the extended family becomes less serious for me and those who are around me. This is true for other persons as well. I think most people are so steeped in their occupations or studies that they forget even what their life is about. This example shows that because of the structure of today’s difficult situation to live, many men pay less attention to their close families rather than the old days. Had they not overwhelmed by so many factors we face nowadays, they could have been able to pay a lot more attention to their extended kin.

Last but not least, as technology enhances and grows, we are absorbed by other subjects surrounding us. Today, we have access to many state of the art gadgets and tools making life easier for us. This kind of objects take our time and energy so much that we become accustom to them. Therefore, we allot less time for our grandparents or grandmothers and so on. But, in the past people had less distractions and technological devices keeping them engaged so much than today. For instance, kids and teenagers play myriads of computer games a lot in today’s world than the past or they go to different extracurricular classes to learn how to play a new musical instrument giving them less opportunity to allocate to their elders in the family. If they hadn’t distracted by so many tech instruments, they could have spent more time and energy with their extended family today.

To put it all in a nutshell, taking all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I am of opinion that family elders were more essential in the past compared to today. Not only are people preoccupied by different kinds of jobs in today’s circumstances, but also the inevitable progress made in the industrial era takes a lot of their resources away.