The following appeared in a memorandum written by the

chairperson of the West Egg Town Council.

"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's

landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be

completely filled within five years. During the past two

years, however, the town's residents have been recycling

twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next

month the amount of recycled material—which includes

paper, plastic, and metal—should further increase, since

charges for pickup of other household garbage will double.

Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent

survey said that they would do more recycling in the future.

Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the

available space in our landfill should last for considerably

longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The chairperson of the West Egg Town Council argues that the current space in their landfill will be sufficient for longer period of time. To justify his prediction, he makes some unwarranted assumptions based on a survey and their residents’ commitment to recycling. This argument is full of holes and lacks concrete evidence which without examining these pieces of evidence may fall apart.

First of all, the author makes a correlation between the garbage disposal and the recycled materials. There is no evidence in the argument that shows garbage disposal will be decreased due to the increasing amount of recycling. It’s possible that the amount of garbage disposal will increase despite the increasing of recycling. Garbage disposals consist of recycling materials and non-recycling materials. Hence, if the amount of non-recycling materials still is high, despite the fact that residents increase recycling, the landfill’s space would be no longer sufficient for the town, and the argument cannot hold water.

Also, the author did not mention that their town whether has any manufactures or industries. The household’s garbage disposal may include a small amount of garbage that has left in the landfill. In this case, if the households increase their recycling and still manufactures and industries do not recycle, then the amount of garbage would not necessarily decrease. Therefore, the conclusion mentioned in the argument will be invalid.

Finally, the chairperson uses a survey as an evidence without elaborating more about this survey’s demographics and methodology. How many residents did participate in the survey? What were the other questions of the survey? Likely, the survey consists of only one question about the recycling and it asked the residents whether they will participate in recycling more in future or not. Their eagerness to recycling is not equal to the fact that they will do it insistently in the future. Without knowing more evidence about the survey, the author cannot conclude that the town’s residents are commitment to recycle the materials.

All in all, the original argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to the lack of solid pieces of evidence. The chairperson of the West Egg Town Council should examine further evidence to be able to convince the reader that the landfill will have space for the longer time than predicted.