Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words Do not use memorized examples.

Without any doubt, during our lives, we may encounter any situations require cooperating in a group. In fact, learning how to be a team worker is imperative and schools and universities give us the chance of developing this skill through the group projects. However, the way that groups are evaluated is very essential and, in my opinion, individuals in a group should be graded separately.

First and foremost, not necessarily, all members of a group would equally collaborate. In this case, it would not be fair that the group as a whole get a grade. To elaborate this more, take my personal experience as an example. I had a group project in my business class in the university. One of our team's member was responsible for collecting information about a particular part. Eluding her responsibilities, she did not provide us the main source of information. The rest of the group, including me, were obliged to carry her burden and for instance, I had to not sleep for two consecutive nights to finish our project. At least, we got a high grade as a group but it wasn't fair because one of us irresponsibly does nothing. This example demonstrates how it is important to evaluate each student instead of the whole group.

Moreover, receiving same grades on a project won't be lucrative for the students' future. As a matter of fact, educational systems provide us a great opportunity to develop numerous skills, although, it could also have a conversely effect. As an illustration, consider the mentioned example of my experience. After our project was graded, that irresponsible member of our group would have learned to put her burden on others shoulder to thrive. She has assimilated an incorrect and deleterious experience that hurts her future. Admittedly, in her future career, she should participate actively in a group but she would think as her past experience she can evade from any responsibility. Therefore, she will fail prospering in her job.

To recap, I firmly believe that each member of a group should receive a separate mark, due to be more fair. Also, students who don't take any responsibility might be spoiled from an acceptable group's grade and it is harmful for their later jobs.