Some believe that local communities should rely on citizen volunteers for projects benefiting those communities (e.g., organizing youth sports leagues and collecting donations for charity). Others believe that local communities are better served when professional community leaders with the necessary skills and time instead handle such projects.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

When a controversial subject such as serving the local community projects come to a debate, some believe that these projects should be handled by volunteer citizen. However, others think that it’s better to have professional leaders for these projects. I agree that professional leaders with sufficient skill and time should serve the local community projects.

Admittedly, utilizing volunteer citizens who belong to a community in the local projects would inject motivation in them in order to utilize more the potential workforce. In fact, they take responsibilities to improve their own community, and put all of their efforts in solving the community issues. However, volunteer citizens have their own jobs from various fields. They cannot devote so much time to the local projects because they are busy with their own lives and duties. Therefore, volunteer citizens can be used for simpler projects that don’t require specific skills or devoting lots of time. For instance, running a fund raising by volunteer citizens for collecting the donations for charity would be a wise choice to utilizing local people’ energy and networking.

However, it should take into account that professionals are people who are educated and have sufficient skills. For serving each project either local or at a broader scope, professional leaders should be used. They have the necessary skills and time which volunteer citizens would not. Normally, each project needs adequate fund and great teamwork led by an adept leader to succeed. Volunteers citizens cannot guarantee the source of sufficient fund for their local projects while professional leaders can use their networks and abilities to convince the government to allocate fund for the local projects. Also, they have necessary time to persistently continue the projects until their success. Therefore, professional leaders with great leadership skills should serve each project, even for the local community projects.

Moreover, volunteer citizens might consider their personal benefits or interests in leading the local projects and do not consider the well-being of the whole community. Therefore, an objective leader that is professionally educated is a better choice for handling the local projects. For example, consider the local youth sports leagues. If parents of the community’s youth are volunteers to organizing the leagues, it’s likely that they just think about their own child and not the whole community’s youths. They may oblige the trainers to utilize their child in their sports team. Hence, an unbiased professional leader will be fairer for the whole community.

In conclusion, professional leaders with the necessary time and skills are better for serving the local community projects than the volunteer citizens. Nonetheless, it would be wise that the professional leaders utilize the potential local people for some projects.