Some believe that local communities should rely on citizen volunteers for projects benefiting those communities (e.g., organizing youth sports leagues and collecting donations for charity). Others believe that local communities are better served when professional community leaders with the necessary skills and time instead handle such projects.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

To make a project successful, it is necessary to include all the stakeholders involved in it whether engaged during input or output processes. Thus, in any community project, on one side are those who are involved in building it and on the other side, there are those who will get benefit from it. Many pundits think that in these projects, local volunteers should be engaged due to many reasons whereas there are also people who reckon that these assignments must be completed by professionally trained people due to their better know how along with other factors. I personally have a view that those people who will get the benefit must be engaged in these activities rather than relying only on the well trained outsiders.

There is no doubt that a professional is the one who has taken the training in that particular field and know the minute details involved in various processes. They learned theoretical knowledge given by the veterans of the field and they also have an exposure to the practical work while during their interships and work experiences. Even, they are awared about the situations when things got worse and have knowledge to tackle those within a required time frame. For instance, to collect donations, a professional is supposed to have the various options to explore and with this prior knowledge, a lot of time can be saved. However, some questions that are these things sufficient for the successful community program.

Ofcourse, no body can beat the knowledge which accumulates from many generations during the long periods. Thus, opinion of the locals where the project is going to be launched and to whom it will benefit, can't be ignored. The residents of the area can know the various things which can help to make the program successful which is quite difficult for any outsider professional due to unfamilarity of the region. For instance, while organizing blood donation camp, local organiser have the familarity with different families of the area and know that which community or family is reluctant for these type of works and require extra effort. However, the unfamiliar expert is likely to follow the established protocols and procedures and may face difficulty to sort the families. Apart from that, the local people can be more dedicated to the cause because they know that it will give benefit to their families. This may not be the possibility on the other side because they are doing it just for the sake of their job.

Overall, it can be said that locals and professionals both are complementary to each other while pursuing community works because both have their own advantages. But, due to the more compelling reasons like attachment to the roots and brotherhood knowledge of the neighbourhood makes the engagement of the local people more persuasive while deciding on the matter. Locals can be trained to get the more results.