Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Any government being a public entity uses public money for its work and motive of that money is obviously not profit oriented unlike private entities. Generally, it is believed that those who don’t have anything, they have governments because these public institutions are required to serve the public welfare and downtrodden people are their priorities. In the same way, governments help those who can’t afford education to realize their potential. However, some capitalist pundits think that governments should not take the burden of higher education of students belong to economically weaker section on their own shoulders.

I completely disagree with the above statement and believe that education is a basic right for every human being and higher education being a part of it also comes under this right, thus, nobody should be denied this right only on the basis of economic circumstances. If a student has fulfilled all the academic requirements of the course, she intends to pursue, that means, she has a capability to complete the course. After completing the course, it is very much possible that she will pay to the society through her work. Thus, if government defrays his university’s fee, then government would also get her services back to the economy. It is a clear case of win-win situation for both parties.

Moreover, offering free higher education to the deprived section helps to raise them on the ladder of poverty eradication. When they have this opportunity, even a prodigy of construction labourer can build his/her career and further help his family to rise economically. Many times, parents of poor children are just waiting for excuses to stop their children from studying further and forcefully put them in some kind of labour. If there would be no option for these students to continue their higher studies then their future can’t be changed. Hence, governments can reach their universal poverty reduction goals through this financial help.

Some experts also put a view that these government sources can be directed to other productive works like building public infrastructure and funding for poor who want to pursue their higher education courses can be collected through philanthropic activities. This initially sounds good but it must be clear that governments already have the established mechanisms to distribute welfare goods. Nonprofit organisations can complement welfare activities but can’t supplant government entities in this regard. Thus, reach of public governments is wider than other institutions.

Therefore, it is our common obligation to give enough opportunities to those who deserve to change the world for a good by directing the public resources to their financial benefits. This will help to take their services for the economy in future and to help reduce the menace of poverty. This will not be possible without the gateway of government itself. Additionally, philanthropic donations can be used to reduce the burden of governments. It would be good to monitor the policy by regularly monitoring of those who take the benefits so that no one can use it in an illicit manner. In this manner, this policy can open hitherto closed doors for many needful students.