"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

To make any decision, there is a need to consider various aspects to diagnose the disease and with that only, any medication or treatment can be effective. In the given memo, the advertising director considered disparate aspects, one being a report which corroborates that the last year witnessed comparatively less people and other being an increased proportion of positive reviews. However, the writer proposed an action on fallacious grounds without answering the adequate queries arising from the above assertions.

The report presented in the argument just reported the conclusion and did not expound on any reasons behind the reduced number. There can be many interpretations inferred from the given information. It could be possible that people did not come out of their homes because of the lockdown imposed by the government to contain the spread of any deadly virus. It is also likely that the target theatres did not open as much as in the previous years due to the strike by their employees to demand salary rise. Thus, simply the numbers cannot reveal the true reason.

Further, the increased percentage of the positive reviews does not mean that the movies were liked by most the viewers. Perhaps, the reviews might be given by only limited number of fans which constitutes very less share of the overall target audience. Hence, this is immature to think that these views could not reach to others. It is probable that the other population deliberately ignored these comments and preferred movies of other production houses.

Clearly, on the above points, one cannot reach at the position to advance a suggestion but the penman concluded that their movies are fine and people are not enough aware about their films and, thus, suggested to enhance the monetary share of advertisements. As the suggestion is not based on adequate evidence, this decision may prove a blunder in the next year. There is also an option to revisit the advertising process and to assure that more buget is a neccessity otherwise, it is also possible that by just reassigning advertisement tasks to more efficient employee can bring the desired results.

Therefore, the whole statement has declarations without specifying the reasons and questions from the same needs to be answered like what was the exact reason behind the reduced attendance and the comments were given by whom? Without answering these, it is difficult to reach at the conclusion. Indeed, exploring the reasons can put the author in better position.