“A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets.”

The Commission written the memo in order to conclude the reason behind the accidents of bicycle riders. However, it relies only on the single explanation.

Apart from the explanation given by the author, it is likely that the reported accidents during the last ten years are from those who did not wear helmet. To substantiate, if the accidents happened ten years ago were 100 in number and in fact, these are from 65% people who didn't wear the protection. Then, at the end of the time interval these numbers jumped to 300 and that too from 20% of people without the head protector because the total users of bicycles increased many more times in order to justify this point. If that was the case, then, it can be concluded that the main cause of the accidents is still be the habit of not wearing a helmet. Hence, refutes the writer's claim.

Besides, there is one more possibility in which there is a chance that during the time span traffic had been increased enormously on the city roads. Might be the administration had not separated the bicycle lane from the lane of automotive vehicles. Due to the rise in congestion of vehicles on the roads, bicycle riders did not get enough space for their safe passage. Indeed it is possible that this opinion was not considered by the local survey about which the memo do not mention the contents of the questionnaire put forward by the surveyers to the riders. If they just asked the question about safety due to helmets then clearly they did not take the traffic congestion on the roads. In these conditions, the conclusion does not seem plausible.

Moreover, There seems a doubt on the studies and the surverys mentioned in the argument about the sample size they took. Without knowing exact representation of the sample, it is hard to conclude anything about the matter. The shrinked samples may lead the reader in wrong direction. Thus, the Commission need to mention about the size and authenticity of the surveyers to believe on their facts.

Therefore, the commission need not to conclude on the matter without exploring other possible reasons. May be the real cause is the only one mentioned in the statement but with the given data any good judge can interpret different reasons. The author should consider to constitute a committee of relevant experts to cross check the data cited in the surveys and to know any other real cause.