As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The power this world got in the recent past due to the developments in the field of technology has made a path for present or coming generation to solve the yet unsolved problems which was hitherto impossible to even talk about. Things like internet has empowered people at such a large scale that now even isolated communities are able to educate their children and to make them scientists. This is because they can rely on internet for their studies and that studies can help them to think critically and to solve their social and economic problems. But some conventional pundits believe that our increasing dependence on technology will result in diminishing our cognitive capabilities.

In my opinion, increasing use of technology to solve problems will not mitigate but will increase our thinking capabilities. Technology helps us to save our time from non-essential things to productivities. For instance, machines in our homes like washing machine, dishwasher and cleaning robots supplant our physical work that consumes lot of time if done manually. This saved time helps particularly women to utilize it for her educational or professional work which surely enhances their cognitive abilities because perfunctory tasks are not consuming mind as such. Similarly, advancement in transportation benefits commuters to save their time and that enhances their productive time. Thus, technology helps people to create more productive time.

Moreover, digital shift happened in the last few decades created unprecedented space for people to think at another level. Electronic gadgets and internet eased mass communication and make this world a single entity. People need not to go to libraries for finding or searching their relevant stuff and can do the things with a machine in their hands. With this, people are now more aware and ask questions to others in their routine life. For instance, when people go to shops or showrooms for buying anything they can’t be fooled by the salesperson because they can compare prices and quality via online stores. Thus, technology make them more informed and comparatively, informed person can think more.

Therefore, use of technology enhances the abilities of people to think more to solve their problems. However, technology is also not without flaws. Its addition and illicit use can bring its negative aspects to the front. Artificial Intelligence can become a threat for populations as with this some people can track lives and activities of large populations and use this information to dominate them or direct them to their intended way, thus, people can be fooled. But this thing can be taken care of by populated governments through advance vigilant techniques. Overall, correct use of technology will make people more cognitive.