The following is a memo from the marketing director of Lamfonz Pet Stores, which operates thirty pet stores worldwide.

“Five years ago, our competitor Fish Emporium started advertising in Exotic Pets Monthly magazine. Their sales overall have seen a steady increase of 3-to-5 percent per year since then. In fact, the Fish Emporium store in Gulf City saw even more remarkable gains, becoming the most visited pet store in the United States last year. Meanwhile, our two Lamfonz stores in Gulf City have seen sales steadily decline during the same period. It seems clear that we should immediately begin placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly and other popular pet magazines. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse this recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again.”

It is always pertinent to consider steps taken by rivals particularly when we are dealing in marketing. Unsurprisingly, the marketing director of Lamfonz Pet Stores tried to do the same. Unfortunately, the assumptions he consider while forwarding the decision looks specious and needs more evidences to support the basic point.

The assertion in the beginning of the statement is mentioned without providing its source, thus, making its authenticity questionable. The author tried to corelate the two things, in the sense that the sales of Fish emporium enhanced due to the advertisement in the Exotic Pets magazine. The first thing becomes the cause for the latter. However, the causation has not been explained with anything. It would be better if there is an evidence in the form of any reliable study or report which can show that by considering other things being same, the rise is directly related to the step taken in publishing the advertisement in that particular monthly publication. Being this thing becomes questionable, it affects the whole argument.

Moving further, the director revealed the fact that the rival's store in Gulf City has experienced significant profits and also became the first priority among the visitors of the whole country. Simultaneously, it is also stated that two stores of the Lamfonz Pet company, contrastly, saw gradual decline during that duration of time. There is no clear connection of the above statements with the main point, that is, publication in the monthly magazine. It is likely that sales of these stores performed that due to other factors like the staff of the Director's company underperformed in convincing the customers whereas their counterparts of other organisation did the vice versa. It is also possible that there was more variety of products and their easy availability played the role in enhancing the rival's sales of these stores.

Nonetheless, the writer concluded the argument by proposing to place their advertisement in that particular magazine and other similar publications and falsely hoped that the decision will reverse the trend. Without finding the exact cause, it is always dangerous to prescribe a medicine. There is a need to do research first to know that is it really worthy to invest in these publications. It is necessary to find that whether these magazines have enough reach to the target audience of this companies product. It cannot be ignored that the other company deal with costly products and the reach of these magazines are the opulent customers. Unfortunately, if the director's company cater to low or middle income customers, then, the proposed action can backfire the company.

Therefore, without providing adequate evidences, the statement looks fallacious and the suggested decision looks immature from the director of such a big firm. There is need to collect information to analyse the exact trend and to know the real facts. Infact, by hiring any data analytic firm, the company can reach at a wiser decision because informed decision is much safer than the one which is based on just assumptions.