The following is a memo from the marketing director of Lamfonz Pet Stores, which operates thirty pet stores worldwide.: “Five years ago, our competitor Fish Emporium started advertising in Exotic Pets Monthly magazine. Their sales overall have seen a steady increase of 3-to-5 percent per year since then. In fact, the Fish Emporium store in Gulf City saw even more remarkable gains, becoming the most visited pet store in the United States last year. Meanwhile, our two Lamfonz stores in Gulf City have seen sales steadily decline during the same period. It seems clear that we should immediately begin placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly and other popular pet magazines. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse this recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again.”

The argument mentions that few years ago, their competitor started advertising their fishing stores in monthly pets magazine. Since then, their sale have increased and the author of the argument take as an example the case of the store in Gulf City that became the most visited pet store in the United States last year. The author, also, compare his store to the competitor in the same city and same periods and mentions that his stores have shown a steadily decline. Therefore, the author mentions that he should start placing their own ads in the same pets magazine and others same type of magazine and thus, making profit again. However, it is easy to see that the argument suffer from several fallacies in its assumptions.

To begin with, the author start directly to compare his pet store to a fish store and mentions that since the advertise of the fish store in the pets magazine, their sale became to increase. The author assume that those are directly linked but it is possible that people are more interested by buying fish then other pets. Fish are smaller and easier to live than, for example, a dog or a cat. Thus, people are possibly more interested by pet that are more practicable to live .

In addition , the argument mentions that their competitor, fish stores, has become the most visited pet store in the united states in their shop in Gulf City. By saying that, the author assume that their title has came because of their advertising in the Exotic pets monthly magazine but it is just possible that their competitor has less stores in the world and more in the United States. The author, the owner of the pets stores , operates in thirty stores in the world and therefore, it is possible that there is just few in the US that don’t attract American people that much.

Overall, the argument is far from forceful enough to persuade that by advertising their pets stores in the Exotic pets monthly magazine or others pets magazine, the owner will start to make profits again.