“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

The argument above mentions that the late-night new program of a televion station has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. The business manager mentions also that viewers were concerned with their station's coverage of weather and local news and local businesses canceled their adverstising contracts. Thus, the manager should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. However, it is easy to that this argument suffer from several fallacies in its assumption.

To begin with, saying that the viewers complaints about the station's coverage of weather and local news may be not link directly to its devoted time but only to the presentation of the program. Hence, it is possible to keep the same amount of time and to maintain a high quality of presentation of the program.

In addition, th manager mentions that local businesses cancelled contract with the station and he implied that it because of the time devoted to weather and local news but it is just possible that local businesses cancelled their advertising contracts because television, in general, is less popular than before. Also, these contracts may be too expensive for the local businessess. Nowadays, all advertises are made in the social network such as Instragram, Facebook or TikTok which is also free or cheaper than the contract made with the station. Thus, this is more attractive for these kind of businesses.

Overall, this argument is far from forcefull enough to persuade that the decreased time devoted to weather and local news is the problem of the declin attraction of the viewers and the local businesses less attract by thoses advertising.