The following is a memo from the marketing director of Lamfonz Pet Stores, which operates thirty pet stores worldwide.

“Five years ago, our competitor Fish Emporium started advertising in Exotic Pets Monthly magazine. Their sales overall have seen a steady increase of 3-to-5 percent per year since then. In fact, the Fish Emporium store in Gulf City saw even more remarkable gains, becoming the most visited pet store in the United States last year. Meanwhile, our two Lamfonz stores in Gulf City have seen sales steadily decline during the same period. It seems clear that we should immediately begin placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly and other popular pet magazines. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse this recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Having a pet helps one combat loneliness. The marketing director of Lamfonz Pet Stores despite having 30 pet outlets worldwide is lagging behind its competitor, Fish Emporium, in terms of sales. Thus, following its competitors' footsteps, the managing director proposes placing their ads in Exotic Pets Magazine and other popular magazines assuming that this strategy will turn them into profit. This assumption is unwarranted as he is too quick to assume that his side can make a similar impact. It doesn’t give us a complete idea of what measures the Fish Emporium applied. As a result, the conclusion is dubious.

The first assumption was that the store could duplicate the Fish Emporium result. However, he has never conducted detailed research on the measures, Fish Emporium took to gain a 3-4% increase in sales over the year. Fish Emporium, Along-with placing an ad in Exotic Pet Magazine, might have also placed a television ad with renowned models posing with their pets. Perhaps, they might have changed the prices of the pets as a lower price will always attract more attention. The managing director of Lamfonz Pet stores lacks the study of these kinds of inner details.

The second assumption was that the quality of the service they provide will remain constant and equivalent to that of Fish Emporium. The MD should have had definite knowledge on how are the pre-sale and post-sale customer services of both stores. For example, it would be helpful for the Lamfonz Pet Stores to lure in some customers by providing them with free vaccinations and treatment for a limited period. Meanwhile, customer interaction and a calm environment are something that the MD must take care of in its store. A store with noise is not preferred by any.

The cost of placing an ad in popular pet magazines is also a topic of concern. Popular magazines like Exotic pet magazine is sure to cost a considerable amount and as stated, the store is facing a decline in sales, Thus, the cost incurred will also play a major role in deciding whether the proposal for the ad is a legit idea at the moment for Lamfonz.

Many specifics are still to be discussed with the board members of the store. MD must not reside on the ad in Exotic pet magazine alone to reverse the trend of declining sales and start making a profit. Instead, he must look on to other alternatives too to make their store recognized all over the world. HE must gather more details to play with before diving to the conclusion that they must place an ad.