The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is always a moot question regarding what to put in the young brigade of a society in terms of cooperation and competition so that will be resulted in an effective leadership. Some liberal people have their credence in teaching them traits of team work or how to remain at peace with fellows whereas on the other side some think that features which include competing with each other should be prioritised. I, personally, reckon that both are complementary to each other and neither of them alone can do what both can achive together.

Revisiting human history and society, it becomes clear that cooperation has helped us in many manners. Human being has successfully dominated this planet by cooperating with each other to trick other beings. For instance, with the help of other people one could be abled to fortify our settlements. Similarly, while developing a society, members of a family, a clan or tribes helped to build generations after generation. Without the support of each other, these things could not be the possibility. Thus, cooperation is ubiquitous in humans since ages.

In view of the above, it becomes significant that our younger generation must have the qualities of cooperating with each other. With this, they can learn to master techniques of doing team work and finishing their targets combined rather than in isolation. Being in a team means a lot. One has an opportunity to learn from peers and to gain from their diverse experiences. Besides, different members have their comparative advantages and with this, they have more chances to achieve better results.

Despite having many benefits of the above, however, characteristics of competition cannot be ignored. This is because by comparing oneself with others in different parameters can show the areas where one lacks or has strengths. By figuring out these things, one would do efforts accordingly to correct it. Moreover, this way, we can obtain optimal performances from individuals which may not be possible in the other case.

Therefore, it can be said that mutual work and comparative tools have an ability to make our adolescents more effective and competitive. With these qualities, they can lead institutions and organisations in a cooperative cum competitive mode.