The following appeared in a memorandum from the mayor of Wistfold.

“A recent study revealed that the number of children requiring medical attention for

illnesses in our town is 40 percent higher than in the neighboring town of Champsfield.

Last year the Champsfield school district implemented an educational program called

“Kerzac Plus” that promotes healthier habits among children. Because prepackaged

convenience foods have less nutritional value than fresh fruits and vegetables, Kerzac Plus

guidance led to banning the sale of candy bars and soft drinks in Champsfield schools.

Kerzac Plus also provides informational posters and live presentations for children that

explain the importance of healthy foods and exercise, as well as the risks of making

unhealthy lifestyle choices. The clearest explanation for the lower medical needs of

Champsfield’s children compared withWistfold’s is the introduction of the Kerzac Plus

program to promote student health.”

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could

rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account

for the facts presented in the argument.

It is always pertinent to find the exact cause of any illness in order to cure it. In this regard, the writer tried to explain the possible cause behind the findings which show that the nearby town, Champsfield, has almost 60 percent of children that require medical care in comparison to the ones of the children living in the author's town. The presented cause emphasised on the awareness program implemented by the latter city's administration. However, there can be other possibilities also that can be explored to reach at the conclusion.

The better health indicators of the Champsfield's children may not be qualified only upto the ban of ready to eat food and awareness program. It is likely that the town has such indicators due to its better municipality services which may include supply of clean drinking water, regular spray of disinfectants, efficient collection of garbage and adequate and timely cleanliness drives. These factors are vital in promoting better health and have a significant factor in preventive care. On the same side, there is a chance that the other town may not be upto date in these services in the areas where their children live. Because, children are supposed to be not mature enough to take decisions on their own, unclean and prone to disease surroundings make them more vulnerable. Thus, these things can also be the answers to the assertion made in the argument.

Moving further, it can't be denied that the reason behind the figures may be attributed to the condition of health infrastructure in these two cities. May be, the affected town has not quality preventive and curative care facilities. Without adequate number of qualified doctors and para medical staff, it is possible that these children could not get the prescription at the right time. It is possible that immunisation drives could not be implemented properly and due to lack of proper vaccination, immunity of the sick children could be reduced and they became weak to tackle the menace of diseases. Indeed, it is likely that these things are available in the latter city.

Therefore, it is immature to say that the more illness among the children in the writer's town is only due to the program implemented in the latter city. There can be other reasons which ranges from local services to health care facilities. Thus, the writer needs to consider these things in order to evaluate the argument