The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The letter written by one of the parent of a student of Kensington Academy is intended to bring the problem into the notice of the principal. However, the argument seems fallacious on many grounds and left scope for many questions to be answered.

The writer submitted that their wards are not enjoying the food given by the recently taken over cafeterian vendor because the food is less in fat and calories. It implies that their children want lunch options which are rich in carbohydrates and calorie intake. However, the author did not take burden to inquire about the reason why the school had changed the vendor and brought that who sale that kind of meals. It is likely that due to the fatty food sold by the earlier seller, students of this institution got sick. It is also possible that majority of the parents urged the authority for the change because they need to have less fatty food for their children during the school hours.

Further, the statement asserted that the plan will perpetuate students to bring their own, unhealthy food. This point does not seem cogent. If that is the case, then, that means their parents will give them sub standard meals for their lunches. But the argument doesn't answer that why the students will bring unhealthy lunch boxes on their own? It is possible that their parents do not have enough time to prepare fresh food for their children. In that case, their needs to mention the number of students who can't bring their healthy food on their own.

However, the parent requested the management to replace the salesperson without considering other options. He needs to answer that why there is only option to replace the vendor. There can be other ways to solve the matter. If some students want fatty food, it is likely that the same person can also give that items. By just demanding his replacement, it is possible that the parent colluded with someone else who want to take the vendorship of that cafe. In that case, the whole intent becomes wrong. To clear these things, the writer must elaborate the things in detail.

Therefore, the writer just acted on the request of their children who are not mature enough to take the right decision. It is globally accepted and scientifically proven fact that fatty food causes problems like diabetes in children but the penman just ignored these things and directly demanded the replacement.