Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

No one is born perfect. If that is the case, then, there is always a scope for human error. Be it a deliberate one or made unwittingly, any mistake is needed to be detected before it can be ratified. In this light, the proposal, that a company should monitor the email correspondences of all of its employees to detect pinpoints which may result into extra costs, is indeed an intelligent step for any competitive management.

These days most of the institutions used to do correspondence through electronic systems powered by internet and emails are significant in this regard. Companies provide this medium to their customers or stakeholders to communicate about their needs or to submit their grievances. So, while considering grievance redressel mechanism, the situation may be created when the respective employee, incharge of the cell, may missed a complaint of any customer which can have the potential to debunk a large amount scam. In that case, the regular cross checking mechanism can find the discrepancy and bring benefits to the company. If gone without notice, then, may be the company will never find it.

Moving further, as there is an adage that 'all fingers are not equal', there are some employees which do illicit activities deliberately without bringing them into the notice of the upper management. Thus, for any management, to keep check on any unlawful activity there is a need to do monitoring drills at random intervals. Those companies who have these types of mechanisms are comparatively more efficient in their output. This is the main reason why top companies like Apple and Google have devoted their entire departments to audit the entire records in the previous year on the annual basis. Even, some governments have passed regulations to set up different committees to audit or monitor the correspondence received in their departments.

Thus, it is a matter which cannot be ignored by any organisation so that any intentional or unintentional letters must be dealt and examined as the required need to avoid any financial or social implication. This will bring more accountability among their employees and make them more efficient because if there is check on them, they would be more aware in accomplishing their targets.