Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Technology, these days is part and parcel of one's life. Blanket ban or free access to smart phones, either of these options are wrong. I would prefer to give access to smart phones to children under proper parents vigilance.

Smart phones with internet provide free access to ample of free educational videos to kids. They can gather information on latest developments across the globe which otherwise would not be possible, as the recent photos of the universe from James hubble telescope is all over the internet.Therefore children can have access to these photos on their own and even can share with their friends via whatsapp groups.

Other than educational information, Parents can get live location of their kids 24/7 through various application provided in the smart phones, as due to professional commitments parents can never spend whole day with thier kids.However, through smart phones they can communicate with their kids anytime and anywhere. Moreover kids can also feel safe with access to smart phones, as parents will be one phone call away in an emergency.

Last but not the least, smart phones access at early age teaches kids to become self independent. These days most of the financial transcations are being done online, as this is the age of internet banking, therefore parents can transfer pocket money of thier kids directly into thier online account, which is beneficial both for kids as well as for parents because parents can have access to their transaction history and kids will become financial prudent as how to use money on thier in an effective way.

Is it possible to forbid chidren from technology which their parents use 24/7 in a day? Perhaps not. Therefore providing phones to kids beneficial for the parents as well as for the kids in order to keep pace with the digital world.