The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business

loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable

enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the

proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market

all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people

attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known

jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in

Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a

nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000

per year on jazz entertainment."

In this application, the author argues that a jazz music club in Monroe will be profitable. Taken as a whole, the argument distorted the view of the situation by manipulating facts and by lacking evidence. To justify this argument, the author notes that jazz music is popular in Monroe. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered unsustainable.

The argument readily assumes that because the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away, a new jazz club in Monroe will have its local market. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. The author should consider that whether there is any way for jazz fans to go to the club that is 65 miles away or not. For example, if there is any subway or highway that could facilitate commuting from Monroe to that city, then jazz fans might go there. Therefore, the argument would have been much more convincing if it provided evidence that fans of jazz living in Monroe would not go to another city if their own city have a jazz club.

Furthermore, the author cites that because in the last summer more than 10000 people attend the jazz festival in Monroe, jazz music is so popular in Monroe. This is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between the two facts, that too many people attending a jazz festival and Jazz music is favored. To illustrate further, the author should provide accurate statistics that show the reader that people who attended that festival were residents of Monroe and they did not come from other cities. Also, the statistics must provide evidence about the ratio of the total number of Monroe citizens to the total number of people who were at that festival. In this case, the application could be much more persuasive if it shows that the big rate of attending the festival were local residents.

Finally, the author notes that based on the nationwide study, jazz fans spend 1000 dollars per year on their favorite music type. A close examination reveals that this assumption is based on missing evidence. The reader will be convinced if the author provides evidence that how much is the sample collected for that study is relevant to the number of jazz fans of Monroe’s residents. Moreover, the author must provide precise statistics about how much money spend on jazz. The jazz fans may spend the whole money on going to jazz clubs or they might spend it on buying jazz CD albums or posters. Without these pieces of evidence, the argument will be seen as wishful thinking rather than a convincing application.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive at its stand. To bolster it further, the author must provide concrete evidence to get the chance of gaining the loan for the jazz club.