Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are living in the heyday of the technology and with no doubt, the epoch-making invention of the internet has reshaped our lives. In fact, having access to the internet is imperative for most members of society to do their duties. As far as I’m concerned, the government should not provide the internet service without any cost, due to the unfairness aspect of it and the negative effect on young people.

To begin with, a society is including elder people as well as young ones. The old people hardly ever use the internet because some of them might have none of the tech-devices such as smart phones. As a matter of fact, they never need accessing to internet and in this regard, it is not fair to them that the government provide internet cost-free. Apparently, the government should dismiss other services to be able to provide internet for no fees. Take my grandmother as a compelling example. She doesn’t possess any cellphone and she dose not know how to use the internet as well. However, she needs to be provided by acceptable medical services, which is necessary for her health. Therefore, it would be unfair for her, that the government for example, decay the medical subside and as a result provide free internet access.

Moreover, youths have already squandered their cherished time surfing web pages and social media. In this case, if they have free internet service, they will indulge in using it and consequently, they lose their golden time for doing more lucrative works such as reading books or doing exercises. For instance, my younger brother is addicted using the internet for insignificant works. My father has restricted him for buying more internet services, in order to discourage him of wasting time and energy. Hence, by possessing cost-free internet service, he cannot control himself and it has many disadvantages for his future.

To recap, I firmly believe that the internet is obligatory for chief members of a society, but it should not be provided with no cost. It is unfair for a part of society such as older people who don’t need internet at all. In addition, for youngsters it would bring about numerous negative influences.