Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The era we are living in is the era of technology. It has now become a need of the day rather than a want. There is no shortage of opinions that internet access is not as important as other services. I have a different opinion. I strongly believe that having access to free of cost internet is as important as other services such as building roads. In the following essay, I intend to put forth my points and reasons in support of my belief.

To begin with, the first exquisite point to be mentioned is that the internet has now become a need rather than a want. From an education point of view, access to free of cost internet will enable citizens to have access to their remote educational programs irrespective of their location and social status. On the other hand, not having a free internet may create hurdles and problems for people in acquiring education. So, having access to the internet is as necessary as building roads and other basic necessities of life. To exemplify, one of my school friends had to relocate due to her father's job demand to a rural area just before our final examinations. Consequently, she has to appear in her examinations remotely. Thus, this example illustrates that if there was no internet access she would not have been able to appear in her finals.

Secondly, to explain broadly, from a social point of view, the internet plays an important role in connecting people on different forums such as facebook, twitter, instagram etc. It provides people with good mental health. They may also benefit themselves by doing digital marketing. However, no access to the internet will deprive them from some remarkable opportunities around the globe. Moreover, people may help each other internationally through various online platforms. This can be best explained by my own example, during covid when everyone was stuck in their homes and due to lack of interaction facing a lot of anxiety. To overcome this,I started my online webinars for people undergoing depression and anxiety about how to cope up with it and some remedies. Therefore, this explains that if there were no internet I would not be able to help so many people.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that having access to free internet is every citizen's basic right as it provides them a quality of education irrespective of their social status and location. Also, it helps them to connect themselves around the globe.