Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critically important that people should work together in order to boost their skills and productivity. There is no shortage of opinions that students learn more when they are assigned work individually. But I have a different belief. I would go in favor of the statement that teachers must assign projects to students in a group, so they can learn more. I prefer this because of two reasons which I elaborate in the following paragraphs.

First of all, when students are assigned to do assignments in a group they get more innovative ideas as every brain is unique. In contrast, when students do the project alone, they rely solely on their understanding because of this they do not get something out of the box. So, when students work in a group they get another person's perspective too and in this way they discover a sea of knowledge and skills. This can be best exemplified by my personal experience. When I was in college we got a bunch of assignments from our teachers. Our pharmacognosy professor mostly assigns projects in a group. I learned a lot because all my group mates were very competitive and passionate about their work. If our teacher had not given assignments in groups then we would not be able to get tremendous knowledge about different aspects of pharmacognosy.

Secondly, working in a group helps students to prepare for the collaborative nature of the workspace. However, doing projects individually makes a person more self-centered and they mostly do not like any third person interference. Hence, when students work in groups they learn how to move as a team. As a result, students develop strong interpersonal skills, which are highly valued by their employers. For instance, my nephew is very introverted and has some difficulty in socializing and mingling with people. When he went to college his professors mostly assigned work in groups, which helped him a lot in boosting his confidence and also overcoming his introvert nature. To add on, this group study makes a dramatic change in his behavior and has a positive impact on his communication and interaction skills. Therefore, if his teachers had not assigned them group assignments then he would not have such a strong personality.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that working in a group has a positive impact on the students. This is because they get more innovative ideas and understanding and also it helps them to prepare for the mutual working nature of work.