In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

With the arousal of independent awareness, more and more young people nowadays are deciding their lives on their own. The issue of are the young people now better able to decide for themselves than before has been under the limelight of public attention. in my view, I agree that the young today can better make up minds about their lives, naming the following reasons.

First, the parents now have more confidence in their children and are more willing to make their children take up the responsibilities. Take my family as an example. My grandmother used to stop my mother from choosing which universities to go because she considers my mom unable to pick it wisely. However, when the same situation comes to my sister, Amber, my mom just let her decide. My mom said that it is my sister’s own life and she is mature enough to make plans for her own future. Therefore, it is common that young people can better make decisions due to the support of parents.

Second, the young people today is more mentally free than the young few decades ago. Young adults now do not like to be confined by others and have more courage of chasing their own dreams. For example, the number of homosexual couples has increased a lot during the past few decades. Those young are braver than their precedents in the aspect of struggling for someone they love. Also, the varieties of careers are adding up. These all show the fact that young people now can better decide and pursue their life paths than the young people before.

Eventually, education has been improved hugely comparing to the old times. Education provides people with the minds and abilities of making up minds properly. According to a recent study conducted by Fudan University, more than 25% of people realize what they want to do after graduating from colleges. However, there were few people can finish studying in universities years ago. This provides solid proof for that fact that young people today can better decide their lives as well.

All in all, given more support from parents, the increasing courage of the young and improved levels of education, it is reasonable to conclude that the young people now have more abilities of making up minds for their own lives.