The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian,

a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable

supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our

alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume

production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an

alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer

makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also,

since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past

five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for

alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will

increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to

evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or

strengthen the argument.

In the memo, the new vice president of the men’s clothing manufacturer company recommends resuming the alpaca overcoat production. To justify his recommendation, he makes some unwarranted assumptions that render the argument highly suspected. To evaluate the argument and the vice president’s recommendations more accurately, the company must examine more solid pieces of evidence.

First of all, the author assumes that the alpaca overcoat should sell very well because they have not offered this coat for five years, and their rival does not make this coat. There is no enough information and solid evidence that shows that if the company resumes producing the alpaca overcoat, they will make profit out of it and they will sell them very well. Its’ possible that after five years, the customers’ opinion have changed and they won’t show enthusiasm to buy this coat. Maybe, the weather condition of the region has become warmer due to the global warming, and therefore, people do not need to buy coats made of wools. The author should consider the possible changes in the weather conditions and temperatures. Also, the company should use a survey that asks the costumers whether they are willing to buy the alpaca overcoat or not. Without these pieces of evidence, the company will take a risk to resume the alpaca coat production.

Moreover, the author argues that the prices of most types of clothing have increased in the past five years, so customers will be eager to spend higher price of the alpaca overcoat. What is the relation between the fact that the prices of the most clothing types have risen and the assumption that people will buy the alpaca overcoat in higher price? The author fails to provide solid evidence for this cause-and-effect assumption. There is no guarantee that customers will pay higher price for the alpaca coat. Have people bought the high prices clothing during the past five years? What is the ratio of the profit of the company to their costs, in the past five years? The increasing in clothing’ price won’t guarantee that customers will buy the alpaca coat in higher price. Without providing evidence in statistics of the company’s revenue in the past five years, they cannot make a decision.

Finally, the company’s profit is based on other factors than just selling a specific kind of coat. The new vice president simply assumes that by producing the alpaca coat their profit will increase. He does not examine other factors that play the roles in the company’s profits. He should investigate about the past five years revenue and costs of the company. Also, he must examine the workers’ efficiency, the customers’ satisfactory and other important factors that are more effective in making profit.

All in all, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to the lack of evidence. The new vice president should consider examining some pieces of evidence and perhaps conduct a systematic study about the company and the men clothing’s market to able to provide a convincing recommendation for the company.